TBI Collaborative Research

TBI Collaborative Research

Ivy League-Big Ten Epidemiology of Concussion Study in Students Athletes

The Ivy League-Big Ten Epidemiology of Concussion Study in Students Athletes is a multisite research collaboration of the Big Ten–Ivy League Traumatic Brain Injury Research Collaboration (TBI Collaboration) with the following vision and goals:

Vision:

  • To improve the understanding of the epidemiology of sports-related concussion (SRC)

Study Goals:

  • To obtain epidemiologic data regarding the incidence, mechanism of injury, and return to academic and sport participation timeline of concussion for all varsity and some club sports endorsed by the Ivy League and Big Ten schools
  • To efficiently utilize the Study data to identify opportunities to improve the health and safety of current and future student-athletes
  • To provide a Study infrastructure supporting a collaborative and participatory research community
Big 10 Ivy League Map

2019 TBI Pre-Summit Epidemiology Study Team Members

pre-summit-2019-group-picture

Bryn VanPatten, PI/AT
Associate Head Athletic Trainer
bryn_vanpatten@brown.edu

Others:

JJ TreyCriscojoseph_crisco@brown.eduTP
BethConroybeth_conroy@brown.edu
AT

Columbia University

columbia

Natasha Desai, PI/TP
nd2498@cumc.columbia.edu 

Others:

JimGossettjdg2@columbia.eduAT
AlexanderGoldbergag3311@columbia.eduRA

Cornell University

cornell

Amy Mal, PI/TP
Assistant Clinical Director of Sports Medicine
aes36@cornell.edu

Others:

BernieDePalmabfd5@cornell.eduAT
KatyHarriskg237@cornell.eduAT

Dartmouth College

kristinekarlson

Kristine Karlson, PI/TP
Team Physician
kristine.a.karlson@hitchcock.org

Others:

ScottRoyScott.J.Roy@dartmouth.edu
AT

Harvard University

frankwang

Francis Wang, PI/TP
Head Team Physician
fwang@uhs.harvard.edu

Others:

ChloeAmaradiochloeamaradio@fas.harvard.eduAT
BrantBerkstresserbberkstr@fas.harvard.eduAT
LarsRichardsonlrichardson@partners.orgPI

University of Illinois

ballard_randy_headshot_resized

Randy Ballard, PI
Associate Athletics Director - Sports Medicine
ballard@illinois.edu

Others:

AaronAndersonaandrsn3@illinois.edu
PaulSchmidtschmidtp@illinois.eduAT
JerradZimmermanjerradzi@illinois.eduTP

Indiana University

nicholasport

Nicholas Port, PI
Associate Professor
nport@indiana.edu

University of Iowa

andypeterson

Andy Peterson, PI/TP
Team Physician
andrew-r-peterson@uiowa.edu

Others:

KathrynBergerkathryn-staiert@uiowa.eduAT
Tony Berger Anthony-d-berger@uiowa.edu AT 
DonnaFrieldonna-friel@uiowa.eduADM

University of Maryland

daveklossner

Dave Klossner, PI/ADM
Associate Athletic Director/Sport Performance
klossner@umd.edu

Others:

ChrisLacsamanaclatc@umd.eduAT

Michigan State University

matthewsaffarian

Matthew Saffarian, PI
Team Physician
mathew.saffarian@hc.msu.edu

Others:

ChandlerCastlecastlec3@ath.msu.edu
AT
TamariaHibblerhollis22@ath.msu.eduAT

University of Minnesota

erinmoore

Erin Moore, PI/AT
Athletic Trainer
moor1018@umn.edu

Others:

JoiThomasthomasjj@umn.eduAdmin
SuzanneHechtSuzanne.hecht@gmail.comTP

University of Nebraska - Lincoln

savage5e032fec77a567c9a92bff0000d6f3d6

Cary Savage, PI
Director of Clinical Research, CB3
csavage@unl.edu

Others:

ArtMaerlender
amaerlender2@unl.eduAdmin
JessicaCalvijcalvi@huskers.comAdmin
ElliotCarlsonelliot.carlson@unl.eduRA
MaitalNetamaitalneta@unl.eduAdmin
Heather Bouchard hbouchard2@huskers.unl.eduRA 

Northwestern University

vesci-brian

Brian Vesci, PI/AT
Senior Associate Athletic Trainer and Concussion Specialist
vesci@northwestern.edu

Others:

JeffMjannesjeffrey.mjaanes@northwestern.eduTP
DanielleColegroved-leightey@northwestern.eduAT 

University of Pennsylvania

briansennett

Brian Sennett, PI/TP
Chair of Sports Medicine
brian.sennett@uphs.upenn.edu

Others:

EmilyDormanemarkis@upenn.eduAT
JennaRatkajratka@upenn.eduRA

Pennsylvania State University

gay_michael_h_18_ms_17629a2f2fec77a567c9a92bff0000d6f3d6
Michael Gay, PI/AT
Assistant Athletic Trainer
mrg201@psu.edu

Princeton University

margotputukian

Margot Putukian, PI/TP
Director of Athletic Medicine
putukian@exchange.princeton.edu

Others:

NeetaBauernkbauer@princeton.eduRA

Purdue University

carly-day

Carly Day, PI/TP
Head Team Physician
Dr.Day@purdue.edu

Others:

DougBoersmaboersma@purdue.eduAdmin

Rutgers University

carrieesopenkod21b2cec77a567c9a92bff0000d6f3d6

Carrie Esopenko, PI
Assistant Professor
ce216@shp.rutgers.edu

Others:

KyleBrostrandkbrostrand@scarletknights.comAT
ChrisD'Andreacdandrea@scarletknights.comAT
JasonWomackwomackja@rwjms.rutgers.eduTP

University of Wisconsin - Madison

erin_mcqiillan_163w_245h_web

Erin McQuillan, PI/AT
Athletic Trainer
EM4@athletics.wisc.edu

Others:

MichaelMollmkm@athletics.wisc.eduAdmin

Yale University

stephanie63f12eec77a567c9a92bff0000d6f3d6

Stephanie Arlis-Mayor, PI/TP
Team Physician
Stephanie.arlis-mayor@yale.edu

Others:

WendyBrunnettowendy.brunetto@yale.eduADM
KristinMoriartykristin.emerick@yale.eduAT